/int/ – No shittings during wörktime
„There is no place like home“

File (max. 4)
Return to
(optional)
  • Allowed file extensions (max. size 25 MB or specified)
    Images:  BMP, GIF, JPG, PNG, PSD   Videos:  FLV, MP4, WEBM  
    Archives:  7Z, RAR, ZIP   Audio:  FLAC, MP3, OGG, OPUS  
    Documents:  DJVU (50 MB), EPUB, MOBI, PDF (50 MB)  
  • Please read the Rules before posting.
  • Make sure you are familiar with the Guide to Anonymous Posting.

No. 11227
42 kB, 454 × 325
30 kB, 455 × 321
I'm trying to self-teach myself piano and it's not going well (no surprise there).
I have basic knowledge on correct hand position and movement also I know elementary music theory.
Currently, I'm trying to learn a new piece - Aquaria Ending
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VbWBM5-CvY
and I've doubts about correct fingering for the left hand.
The problem starts right at the start when I need to jump from A to B flat (pic 1)
I've tried to land on 5th finger, but it is quite thin so it slips very easily from a black key;
now landing on the 4th finger is more stable but where do I go from there? If I play F with the second finger a lot of tension is unavoidable.
Playing F with thumb and then going over it with 2nd on B flat and finishing with 5th on F (pic 2) sounds fine but feels overly complicated since I need to move my arm a little up and to the side from the shoulder to complete the thumb over motion.
Sure there is a simpler solution that I'm not seeing.
>>
No. 11258
>I've tried to land on 5th finger, but it is quite thin so it slips very easily from a black key
Train fingers. Black keys are better to push with a little finger. Play pentatonic scales(i might misinterpret this) and accords for 5 minutes everyday.
Here is a good example, but in russian, but you can see her fingers, so just repeat after it
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=m0eOVdm5Nvw
The first year of piano classes should be about pure mechanic
>>
No. 11445